All-New Season of THE AMAZING RACE Joins CTV’s Thursday Night Lineup, Beginning March 30

— March 27, 2017

– New toy-competition series THE TOY BOX added to CTV’s Friday night lineup, beginning April 7 –

TORONTO (March 27, 2017)THE AMAZING RACE is back for another suspenseful season, but this time with a twist! For the first time in series history, 22 strangers will team up at the starting line when the 10-time Emmy® Award-winning series joins CTV’s all-star Thursday night lineup, beginning March 30 at 10 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO. This 29th trip around the world helps set the stage for an all-new fifth season of CTV’s mega-hit series, THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, set to premiere this summer (broadcast info to be announced in the coming weeks). CTV also announced today that the new toy-competition series THE TOY BOX joins its Friday night lineup beginning April 7 at 8 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO. The hour-long series provides talented designers with the chance of a lifetime: an opportunity to bring their toy concept to life. Hosted by Eric Stonestreet (MODERN FAMILY), the toys – and their inventors – are put through a series of trials and tests before facing the ultimate judges – a panel of no-nonsense, toy-loving kids. The winning toy will be sold exclusively at Toys“R”Us® after the series finale. In the opening minutes of THE AMAZING RACE season premiere, (Thursday, March 30 at 10 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO), before host Phil Keoghan says “GO”, Racers immediately compete in a challenge that will determine the order for picking a teammate. These new teams have mere moments to learn their partner’s name before beginning a race around the world, spanning nine countries, 17 cities, and 36,000 miles. Racers this season include an Army Drill Sergeant, a pro snowboarder, a Wall Street banker, an auctioneer and a college drum major, among others. They will begin their journey in Los Angeles and head to their first destination, Panama City. Along the route, Racers will be challenged with building and delivering desks and school supplies to children in Tanzania, skydiving in Norway, and bungee jumping 240 feet into the Corinth Canal in Greece. The first team to cross the final finish line will win the one million - dollar prize and be crowned the winners of THE AMAZING RACE. Following are the 22 Racers, listed in no particular order: - Ashton Theiss, a 25-year-old residential realtor from Fort Worth, TX - Floyd Pierce, a 21-year-old college drum major from Boulder, CO - Brooke Camhi, a 36-year-old criminal attorney from New York, NY - Liz Espey, a 24-year-old auctioneer from Maryville, MO - Francesca Piccoli, a 33-year-old U.S. Army drill sergeant from St. Plano, TX - Jennifer Lee, a 25-year-old professional model from Los Angeles, CA - Jessica Shields, a 28-year-old K-9 police officer from Youngstown, OH - Joey Covino, a 46-year-old police sergeant from Saugus, MA - Kevin Ng, a 31-year-old athletic trainer from San Diego, CA - Logan Bauer, a 27-year-old surgical consultant from Columbus, GA - London Kaye, a 27-year-old artist from Brooklyn, NY - Matt Ladley, a 25-year-old pro snowboarder from Denver, CO - Michael Rado, a 37-year-old butcher from Pittsburgh, PA - Olive Beauregard, a 24-year-old firefighter from Providence, RI - Becca Droz, a 26-year-old rock climbing instructor from Boulder, CO - Redmond Ramos, a 28-year-old former U.S. Navy corpsman from Murrieta, CA - Sara Fowler, a 27-year-old luxury realtor from St. John, Virgin Islands - Scott Flanary, a 34-year-old recruiting manager from West Hollywood, CA - Seth Tyler, a 37-year-old police officer from Seattle, WA - Shamir Arzeno, a 28-year-old Wall Street banker from Jersey City, NJ - Tara Carr, a 38-year-old U.S. Army officer from Alexandria, VA - Vanck Zhu, a 28-year-old Wall Street analyst from New York, NY THE AMAZING RACE sends 11 teams on a trek around the world. Each team is comprised of two people. At every destination, each team competes in a series of challenges - some mental and some physical - and when the tasks have been completed, they learn their next destination. Teams who are farthest behind will gradually be eliminated as the contest progresses, with the first team to arrive at the final destination winning at least $1 million. Jerry Bruckheimer, Bertram van Munster, Jonathan Littman, Elise Doganieri and Mark Vertullo are the Executive Producers for Jerry Bruckheimer Television and Earthview Inc. in association with ABC Studios and Amazing Race Productions. THE AMAZING RACE was created by Bertram van Munster and Elise Doganieri.

About CTV

CTV is Canada’s #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 15 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at


Press Room

Eleni Tenuta

Senior Manager, Publicity Bell Media Studios & Radio