Ambitious Newfoundland Co-workers, a Romantic Québec Couple, and Witty East Coast Brothers are the Latest Teams Revealed for CTV’s THE AMAZING RACE CANADA

— June 16, 2015

– With six of 12 teams now revealed, the remaining racers are set to be announced on THE MARILYN DENIS SHOW (tomorrow) and THE SOCIAL (Thursday) –
– THE AMAZING RACE CANADA premieres Wednesday, July 8 on CTV and CTV GO –
– Team videos, bios, fun facts, and exclusive content available at –
– Follow @AmazingRaceCDA for updates on Season 3 –

To tweet this release: TORONTO (June 16, 2015) – As announced on CANADA AM this morning, the second round of teams for CTV’s THE AMAZING RACE CANADA were revealed for the upcoming third season. The three new teams revealed are: • driven, determined Type-A best friends, and police officers with the Royal Newfoundland Constabulary, Dana and Amanda, from St. John’s, N.L.; • romantic, fun-loving couple Nic and Sabrina from Montréal; • and endearing, quick-witted, laid back brothers Brent and Sean from Musquodoboit Harbour, N.S. Up from 11 teams last season, a total of 12 teams will race to win more than $1 million dollars in prizes  and THE AMAZING RACE CANADA. Teams will continue to be announced in groups of three this week on CTV programs: THE MARILYN DENIS SHOW tomorrow (June 17) and the final three on THE SOCIAL on Thursday (June 18). In addition, the official Season 3 group photo will be released by @CTV_PR following the final team reveal on THE SOCIAL. Set to anchor CTV’s Summer 2015 schedule, the most-watched Canadian television show in history airs Wednesdays at 9 p.m. ET/PT beginning July 8 on CTV and CTV GO. Visit to check local listings. AmandaDanalowresNicSabrinalowresjpgBrentSeanLowRes

L-R: Dana and Amanda, Nic and Sabrina, and Brent and Sean

**Media Note** Download artwork for THE AMAZING RACE CANADA at For more on the racers, fans can visit and click on the team pages presented by Chevrolet Canada. With team videos, bios, fun facts, and exclusive content, the site is the ultimate destination to get the scoop on this season’s competitors. Full episodes, sneak peeks, and extras will also be available following the July 8 premiere. Below is the second group of three teams announced to compete in Season 3 of CTV’s THE AMAZING RACE CANADA. Click on the team names for full bios and photography. Dana Hayward and Amanda Johnston – Co-workers Name: Dana Hayward Age: 23 Current City: St. John’s, N.L. Occupation: Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Twitter: @dana7h Name: Amanda Johnston Age: 23 Current City: St. John’s, N.L. Occupation: Royal Newfoundland Constabulary Twitter: @amj839 Motto: “Face every obstacle with the warrior mentality.” Nic La Monaca and Sabrina Mercuri – Dating Name: Nic La Monaca Age: 22 Current City: Montréal Occupation: Student/Soccer Coach Twitter: @Nic_SabrinaTARC Name: Sabrina Mercuri Age: 32 Current City: Montréal Occupation: Human Resources Twitter: @Nic_SabrinaTARC Team Motto: “If you don’t laugh, it’s not worth it!” Brent Sweeney and Sean Sweeney – Brothers Name: Brent Sweeney Age: 25 Current City: Toronto; hometown is Musquodoboit Harbour, N.S. Occupation: Design student Twitter: @brentasweeney Name: Sean Sweeney Age: 28 Current City: Toronto, hometown is Musquodoboit Harbour, N.S. Occupation: Design student Twitter: @SeanASweeney Team Motto: “Beasts from the East!” To date, six teams have been announced to compete in Season 3 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA: In the end, only one team can win the THE AMAZING RACE CANADA and receive the life-changing grand prize valued at close to one $1 million dollars, which includes “gas for life” from Petro-Canada, a $250,000 cash payout, the opportunity to fly for a year anywhere Air Canada flies worldwide in Business Class, plus two Chevrolet Colorado Trucks – the 2015 Motor Trend Truck of the Year. Teams are also competing for special pit stop prizes courtesy of Air Canada and Petro-Canada, to be revealed during the broadcasts. The third season of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA is back with brand new teams and fresh, exciting, nail-biting challenges. Canada’s most-watched television series on record now has 12 teams, meaning more action, more challenges, and more at stake as the racers travel across Canada in the hopes of being the first team to cross the finish line. Hosted by Olympic champion and Canadian hero Jon Montgomery (@jonmonty), Season 2 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA garnered four 2015 Canadian Screen Award wins including Best Reality/Competition Program or Series. Viewers are encouraged to follow @AmazingRaceCDA and stay tuned to the CTV Facebook page for updates. Commissioned by CTV, Season 3 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and with the support of Profiles Television Productions. Insight Productions’ John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby are Executive Producers, and Mark Lysakowski is Supervising Producer. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President and Robin Johnston is Production Executive at Bell Media. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice-President, Programming, CTV Networks and CraveTV. Phil King is President – CTV, Sports, and Entertainment Programming. Encore episodes of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA will air Saturdays at 8 p.m. ET/PT and Sundays at 5 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO. Previous seasons are also now streaming on CraveTV. The three premier sponsors for THE AMAZING RACE CANADA  are Air Canada, Chevrolet Canada, and newly added BMO Financial Group. Dairy Queen® Canada, Mentos, and Petro-Canada™, a Suncor business, also return to partner with the juggernaut hit series. SOCIAL MEDIA LINKS: Twitter: #AmazingRaceCanada @CTV_PR @CTV_Television @AmazingRaceCDA @AirCanada @BMO @ChevroletCanada @DQCanada Facebook: Instagram: About Bell Media Independent Production Bell Media has commissioned some of Canada’s most-watched and most-acclaimed original programming, working with the best Canadian independent producers in the country. Hit CTV series include ratings success stories SAVING HOPE, MOTIVE, the record-breaking THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, and MASTERCHEF CANADA. Among the scripted series on Bell Media pay and specialty channels are the three-time Emmy®-nominated hit DEGRASSI, the internationally acclaimed ORPHAN BLACK, the most-watched original series in Space history BITTEN, Bravo’s most-watched original drama 19-2, award-winning dramedy SENSITIVE SKIN, the upcoming adventure series KILLJOYS, and upcoming cult comedy, LETTERKENNY. Bell Media specialty channels are also home to hit factual series HIGHWAY THRU HELL, COLD WATER COWBOYS, and CANADA’S WORST DRIVER, among others. About CTV CTV is Canada’s #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 14 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at

– CTV –

Source: Source: Numeris (BBM Canada)


Press Room

Eleni Tenuta

Senior Manager, Publicity Bell Media Studios & Radio
Follow Us