CTV Announces First Three Teams for Season 2 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA

— June 17, 2014

To tweet this release: http://bit.ly/1i2U4lR


TORONTO (June 17, 2014) – As one of the most anticipated second seasons in Canadian television history draws ever closer, CTV unveiled today the first three of 11 teams competing in the all-new cycle of the THE AMAZING RACE CANADA. Competing in this race of a lifetime are Canada’s National Women’s Hockey Team members Natalie Spooner and Meaghan Mikkelson, both fresh off their breath-taking gold medal triumph during the Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games. Joining them are dating couple Alain and Audrey from the Montreal area, who bring ‘joie de vivre’ and tenacity to the race, making them fierce competitors. The third team unveiled today are best friends Shahla and Nabeela, who share boundless energy and terrific chemistry – a lethal combination in this competition. Up from nine teams last season, the 11 teams will race for the historic half-a-million dollar grand prize. Three more teams will be announced tomorrow (June 18), three on Thursday (June 19), and the final two pairings will be revealed on Friday (June 20). Fans can also look forward to a special Season 2 exclusive, to be revealed this Friday (June 20) at noon ET by @AmazingRaceCDA.

 Set to anchor CTV’s Summer 2014 schedule, the most-watched Canadian television series on record kicks-off its heart-pounding second season in a new timeslot, airing Tuesdays at 9 p.m. ET/PT, beginning July 8 on CTV and CTV GO.   

**Media Note** Download artwork for THE AMAZING RACE CANADA at BellMediaPR.ca



L-R: Natalie and Meaghan, Alain and Audrey, and Shahla and Nabeela


“This season’s teams are highly competitive, athletic, and full of personality,” said Phil King, President – CTV, Sports, and Entertainment Programming. “They will ignite screens across Canada and inspire that same passion we saw erupt from last summer’s incredible journey.”

“Canada once again rose to the challenge this season, we have the most engaging and watchable teams – this season is going to blow people’s minds,” said John Brunton, Chairman and CEO of Insight Productions. “We have 11 dynamic teams from all corners of this country; Canada will be on the edge of their seats cheering them on.”

Below are the first three teams announced to compete in Season 2 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA. Click on the team names for full bios and photography.

Natalie Spooner and Meaghan Mikkelson – Teammates

Name: Natalie Spooner

Age: 23

Current City: Scarborough, Ont.

Occupation: Forward, Canada’s National Women’s Hockey Team

Twitter: @natspooner5

Name: Meaghan Mikkelson

Age: 29

Current City: Calgary, Alta.

Occupation: Defence, Canada’s National Women’s Hockey Team

Twitter: @Mikkelson12

“One clue at a time – unity in adversity.”

Alain Chanoine and Audrey Tousignant-Maurice – Dating

Name: Alain Chanoine

Age: 32

Current City: St-Hubert, Que.

Occupation: Actor

Twitter: @AlainChanoine

Name: Audrey Tousignant-Maurice

Age: 31

Current City: St-Hubert, Que.

Occupation: Real Estate Broker

Twitter: N/A

Team Motto :
“We are the ‘A’ team – in it to win it!”

Shahla Kara and Nabeela Barday – Best Friends

Name: Shahla Kara

Age: 29

Current City: Markham, Ont.

Occupation: Occupational Therapist

Twitter: N/A

Name: Nabeela Barday

Age: 29

Current City: Toronto, Ont.

Occupation: Management, Consulting

Twitter: N/A

Team Motto:
“Brownies for the win!”

Only one team can earn the title as Season 2 champions of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA. The biggest grand prize ever awarded for a Canadian competition series expanded this season to include “gas for life” from Petro-Canada. In addition, the winning team once again receives a $250,000 cash payout and the opportunity to fly free for a year anywhere Air Canada flies worldwide in Business Class, plus two Chevrolet Silverado High Country Edition Pickup Trucks. Teams are also competing for special pit stop prizes courtesy of Air Canada and Scotiabank, to be revealed during the broadcasts.

Back this summer with all-new teams and exciting, edge-of-your-seat challenges, the most-watched Canadian television series on record returns for a second season of action-packed adventure. Hosted by Olympic champion and Canadian hero Jon Montgomery (@jrmonty12), Season 1 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA raced ahead of the pack with an average audience of 3.5 million viewers each week, and garnered two Canadian Screen Award wins for Best Photography in a Lifestyle or Reality/Competition Program or Series, and Best Writing in a Lifestyle or Reality/Competition Program or Series. The smash-hit original series vaulted into the record books as Canada’s most-watched TV series last summer and the second most-watched television program of the entire broadcast year. Fans are encouraged to follow @AmazingRaceCDA and stay tuned to the CTV Facebook page for updates.

Commissioned by CTV, Season 2 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and with the support of Profiles Television Productions. Insight Productions’ John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby are Executive Producers, and Mark Lysakowski is Supervising Producer. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President and Robin Johnston is Director, Independent Production at Bell Media. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice-President, Programming, CTV Networks. Phil King is President - CTV, Sports, and Entertainment Programming.

Encore episodes of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA will air Saturdays at 8 p.m. ET/PT and Sundays at 5 p.m. ET/PT on CTV and CTV GO. 

The four premier sponsors for THE AMAZING RACE CANADA are Air Canada, Chevrolet Canada, Dairy Queen® Canada and Scotiabank.
























About Bell Media Independent Production

Bell Media has commissioned some of Canada’s most-watched and most-acclaimed original programming, working with the best Canadian independent producers in the country. Hit CTV series include ratings success stories SAVING HOPE, THE LISTENER, MOTIVE, and THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, the record-breaking, Canadian-produced complementary version of the hit international series. New to CTV in 2014 are hit international format MASTERCHEF CANADA and multi-cam office comedy SPUN OUT, one of the most-watched new comedies of the season. Among the scripted series on Bell Media pay and specialty channels are the two-time Emmy®-nominated hit DEGRASSI, the internationally acclaimed ORPHAN BLACK, the most-watched original series in Space history BITTEN, Bravo’s most-watched new drama 19-2, TRANSPORTER: THE SERIES, and upcoming dramas SENSITIVE SKIN, and KILLJOYS. Bell Media specialty channels are also home to hit factual series HIGHWAY THRU HELL and CANADA’S WORST DRIVER, among others. In 2013, Bell Media ordered 27 original Canadian series and currently has 84 projects in various stages of development.


About CTV        
CTV is Canada's #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 13 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at CTV.ca.

- CTV -

For more information, please contact:

Cary Mignault, THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, 416.435.9295 or cary.mignault@bellmedia.ca

Monique Bevan, THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, 416.384.2055 or Monique.bevan@bellmedia.ca

Jim Quan, CTV Networks, 416.384.5311 or jim.quan@bellmedia.ca