Classified, Johnny Reid, and Serena Ryder to Co-Host CTV’s Broadcast of THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS ####

— March 4, 2014

To tweet this release: 


TORONTO (March 4, 2014) – CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS) announced today platinum-selling hip hop artist and 2013 JUNO Award winner Classified, platinum-selling and three-time JUNO Award-winning artist Johnny Reid, and hit-making, 2014 JUNO performer and multi-platinum-selling, four-time JUNO Award winner Serena Ryder as co-hosts of THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS. It was also announced that Classified and Serena Ryder are set to perform together to open the two-hour award show.


CTV also revealed today broadcast details for the Sunday, March 30 JUNO AWARDS broadcast across the country. Canada’s preeminent music awards airs live from MTS Centre in Winnipeg on CTV and CTV GO at 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET in Manitoba and all markets East, and at 9 p.m. locally in all markets West of Manitoba. THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS will enjoy seven encore broadcasts across CTV as well as Bell Media specialty channels Much and M3. Check local listings to confirm broadcast times and stations.


**Media Note**- Photos and biographies for THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS performers are available at and


“With Classified, Johnny Reid, and Serena Ryder, we are privileged to have an incredible cross-section of diverse musical talent taking the helm at this year’s 2014 JUNO AWARDS,” said Phil King, President – CTV, Sports and Entertainment Programming. “In the hands of these three talented musicians, Canada’s most exciting night in music is sure to be quite the party – a party that rings out right across the county. Get ready Canada!” 


No strangers to the JUNOS, the three diverse co-hosts span multiple genres including rap, contemporary/soul, and pop rock. The co-hosts engage in some friendly competition during JUNO Week, as Classified vies for Single of the Year and Rap Recording of the Year, Johnny Reid for Adult Contemporary Album of the Year, and Serena Ryder for JUNO Fan Choice Award (Presented by TD), Single of the Year, Album of the Year (Sponsored by Music Canada), Artist of the Year, and Songwriter of the Year (Sponsored by SiriusXM Canada). Ryder and Classified pull double duty as co-hosts and performers, joining previously announced performers Brett Kissel, Dean Brody, Gord Bamford, Matt Mays, Robin Thicke, The Sheepdogs, Tegan and Sara, and Walk Off The Earth, as well as previously announced presenters Sarah McLachlan and Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games Gold Medalists in Women’s Curling. 


“I’m honoured to be involved in the JUNO Awards in this capacity,” said co-host Classified. “It’s going to be a fun night, with a lot of surprises!”


"I am honoured to be co-hosting this year’s awards show with Classified and Serena,” said co-host Johnny Reid. “This is our industry’s biggest night and I’m looking forward to coming to Winnipeg and sharing a great night of music with the rest of Canada.” 


“I’m so excited to be co-hosting the JUNO Awards this year with my friends Johnny and Classified,” said co-host Serena Ryder. “I can’t wait to be a part of this national celebration in the awesome town of Winnipeg – the perfect Canadian music-lover’s town. See you soon, Canada!”


Tickets are currently on sale for THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS. Tickets range from $39 to $189 (plus service charges) and are available through the MTS Centre Box Office, by phone at      1-855-985-5000, and online at


Additional performer and presenter announcements will be released in the coming weeks. 

This year marks the thirteenth year in a row that THE JUNO AWARDS will air on CTV, the Official Broadcast partner of the JUNO Awards. Broadcast in high definition and 5.1 surround sound, THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS, Canada’s Music Awards, airs Sunday, March 30 on CTV from MTS Centre in Winnipeg.


Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2002, The JUNO Awards have travelled across Canada, bringing a live, electrifying stadium show to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast THE JUNO AWARDS from St. John’s (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009), back to St. John’s (2010), Toronto (2011) back to Ottawa (2012), Regina (2013), and return back to Winnipeg this year. The 2015 JUNO Awards are confirmed for Hamilton, ON.


THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions, and Melanie Berry and Ed Robinson for CARAS. Lindsay Cox is Supervising Producer. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Independent Production. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice President, Programming, CTV Networks. Phil King is President, CTV, Sports, and Entertainment Programming.


Broadcast sponsors of THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS are Dodge Dart, Garnier, TD, and Virgin Mobile.

Sponsors of the THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and The Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund,” Radio Starmaker Fund, Province of Manitoba, the City of Winnipeg, Tourism Winnipeg, Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, and TD Bank Group.


The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences/L'académie canadienne des arts et des sciences de l'enregistrement (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music and recording industries and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards. The main focus of CARAS is the exploration and development of ongoing opportunities to showcase and promote Canadian artists and music through vehicles such as The JUNO Awards and other year-round initiatives. For more information on the 43rd Annual JUNO Awards or The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences' (CARAS) website please visit or


About CTV

CTV is Canada's #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 12 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at

Social Media Links
Official JUNO Awards website:
CTV’s JUNO Awards website:
CARAS website:
CTV website: 




















– CTV –


For more information on THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS on CTV, contact:

Noreen Hamid, 416.384.3259 or


For more information on CARAS and the 2014 JUNO Awards, contact:

Adrienne Kakoullis, 416.628.5610 or