Second Team Eliminated on Tonight’s Episode of CTV’s THE AMAZING RACE CANADA

— July 9, 2019

– On the next episode of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, teams jet off to Edmonton where the first-ever One Way leaves some teams blindsided –

TORONTO (July 9, 2019) – In tonight’s episode of CTV’s THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, Nicki and Aisha, best friends from Toronto, were eliminated after a lack of direction st­eered them into last place. Eight teams now remain on THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, returning next week to its regular timeslot with an all-new episode Tuesday, July 16 at 9 p.m. ET/PT on CTV, and streaming anytime on and the CTV app.

Tonight’s episode saw nine teams race to the Last Spike historic site in Craigellachie, B.C., where the final railway spike completed the Canadian Pacific Railway. Racers then headed to Glacier House Resort outside of Revelstoke, B.C. where they had to tear through a mountainside motorbike course, completing a lap in one minute and 50 seconds, or less.

After kicking it into high gear, teams were faced with a Detour and had to choose between either “Plant” or “Paddle”. “Plant” teams headed to the BC Interior Forestry Museum and Forest Discovery Centre to plant 40 tree seedlings according to specific forestry standards. “Paddle” teams were challenged to collect five flags across Williamson Lake in kayaks tied together bow-to-stern, stern-to-bow. The next stop was the Revelstoke Railway Museum, where racers had to assemble a detailed model train set using all provided pieces on a closed-circuit, causing some teams to derail under the pressure while others remained on track.

Teams then raced to the pit stop atop Revelstoke Mountain Resort to meet host Jon Montgomery on the mat. Aarthy and Thinesh were the first to arrive, winning a trip for two to Madrid and an Express Pass that can be used to skip any challenge by the seventh leg of the Race. Nicki and Aisha headed in the wrong direction on their way to the pit stop, and ultimately were the last to arrive.

On the next episode of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA, “We'll Let the Peasants Fight for Last Place” (Tuesday, July 16 at 9 p.m. ET/PT on CTV, and streaming anytime on and the CTV app), racers jet off to Edmonton where the race’s first-ever Double One Way leaves some teams blindsided.

The eight remaining teams competing for the Season 7 title of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA champions are:

  • Aarthy and Thinesh – dating couple from Vancouver
  • Anthony and James – married couple from Edmonton
  • Lauren and Joanne – sisters from Regina
  • Trish and Amy – friends from Etobicoke, Ont.
  • Sarah and Sam – teammates living in Toronto
  • Gilles and Sean – grandfather and grandson from Sunderland, Ont.
  • Dave and Irina – married couple from Montréal
  • Meaghan and Marie – twin sisters from Halifax

For more information on the teams competing on THE AMAZING RACE CANADA this season, viewers can visit and search the team pages presented by Chevrolet. The site features team videos, bios, and exclusive content. As the go-to resource for THE AMAZING RACE CANADA fans, also includes full episodes and sneak peeks. Additionally, ETALK will air exclusive on-the-road coverage on Tuesdays and Wednesdays at 7 p.m. ET/PT on CTV.

Encore presentations of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA air on CTV Saturday and Sunday at 5 p.m. ET/PT and 7 p.m. ET/PT, respectively, and Saturdays at 7 p.m. ET/PT on CTV2 (visit to check local listings). Episodes are available to stream anytime on and the CTV app.

Brand partners for Season 7 of THE AMAZING RACE CANADA include Chevrolet, who returns for a seventh consecutive season, as well as Dempster’s, Clif Bar, Dairy Farmers of Ontario, Walt Disney Studios, Expedia, Paramount Pictures Corporation, Shell Canada, The Royal Ontario Museum, The Source, and Webber Naturals.

THE AMAZING RACE CANADA is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV. John Brunton is Executive Producer and Mark Lysakowski is Executive Producer and Showrunner. For Bell Media, Danielle Pearson is Production Executive; Robin Johnston is Director, Original Programming, Factual and Reality; Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Original Programming; Pat DiVittorio is Vice-President, Programming, CTV and Specialty. Mike Cosentino is President, Content and Programming, Randy Lennox is President. 

About CTV
CTV is Canada’s #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 18 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at


Press Room

Christy Sullivan

Manager, Publicity CTV

Matthew Almeida

Publicist, CTV