THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS Take Care of Business with 1.4 Million Viewers on CTV

— March 31, 2014

To tweet this release:

TORONTO (March 31, 2014) – CTV’s broadcast of THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS saw 1.4 million viewers rock out across the nation last night, preliminary overnight data confirms, winning its timeslot and ranking as the second most-watched program of the night. Co-hosted by Classified, Johnny Reid, and multiple JUNO Award-winner Serena Ryder, the two-hour broadcast from Winnipeg’s MTS Centre was watched by nearly 6 million* unique viewers. The broadcast peaked with 1.8 million viewers.

Also on Sunday:

  • CTV claimed the Top 3 programs of the night with total viewers with THE AMAZING RACE (2.0 million), THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS (1.4 million), and ONCE UPON A TIME (953,000).
  • In primetime (7 p.m. -11 p.m.), CTV more than doubled Global’s audience with total viewers, and held a double-digit advantage among the key demos (+83% A25-54, +61% A18-49, and +34% A18-34).


THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS, including Arcade Fire’s epic, world premiere, exclusive recorded performance of “After Life”, is available on demand now at and on the CTV GO app.

**Media Note** - Download photos from last night’s THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS at

CTV extended the JUNO Awards experience online, on social media, and on the CTV GO app with viewers adding thousands of comments and interactions about last night’s broadcast. CTV’s THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS broadcast was also a hot topic on Twitter with an estimated reach of 569 million users from 171,000 tweets. Last night in Canada, five of the Top 10 trends were related to the show: #BTO, OneRepublic, Canadian Music Hall of Fame, and Breakthrough Group of the Year, plus a huge amount of chatter on social media surrounded the JUNO Fan Choice Award and its recipient, Justin Bieber.

Encore broadcasts of THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS air at the following times:

  • Monday, March 31 at 10 p.m. ET on M3
  • Thursday, April 3 at 10 p.m. ET on Much
  • Saturday, May 31 at 8 p.m. ET on CTV Two

Winnipeg entertained the nation during last night’s broadcast, which featured a mash-up performance by co-hosts Serena Ryder and Classified; a powerful performance by Walk Off The Earth, with local all-female hand drum group, Red Robe Women’s Drum Society; a standing ovation for Winnipeg-based Sochi 2014 Olympic Winter Games Gold Medallists in Women’s Curling, skip Jennifer Jones and her team, Kaitlyn Lawes, Jill Officer, and Dawn McEwan; 2014 JUNO Award-winners Tegan and Sara, backed up Choir!Choir!Choir!; Sarah McLachlan, who performed her new single “Beautiful Girl,” Matt Mays who rocked in his JUNO AWARDS performance debut; Denver’s OneRepublic who delighted fans with their hit “Counting Stars,” and a three-part country music performance featuring Dean Brody, Brett Kissel, and Gord Bamford. The night closed with a spectacular tribute to 2014 Canadian Music Hall of Fame inductees, and beloved Winnipeg band, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, featuring The Sheepdogs, and a surprise performance by all four members of BTO, who have not performed together since 1991.

Since CTV joined forces with CARAS in 2002, the JUNO Awards have travelled across Canada, bringing an exhilarating live concert to millions of Canadians. CTV has broadcast THE JUNO AWARDS from St. John’s, N.F. (2002), Ottawa (2003), Edmonton (2004), Winnipeg (2005), Halifax (2006), Saskatoon (2007), Calgary (2008), Vancouver (2009), St. John’s, N.F. for a second time (2010), Toronto (2011) Ottawa for a second time (2012), Regina (2013) and for a second time this year, Winnipeg. Hamilton is set to host THE 2015 JUNO AWARDS.

THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS is produced by Insight Productions in association with CTV and The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (CARAS). Executive Producers are John Brunton and Barbara Bowlby for Insight Productions, and Melanie Berry and Ed Robinson for CARAS. Lindsay Cox is Supervising Producer. Corrie Coe is Senior Vice-President, Independent Production. Mike Cosentino is Senior Vice President, Programming, CTV Networks. Phil King is President, CTV Programming and Sports.

Broadcast sponsors of THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS are Dodge Dart, Garnier, TD, and Virgin Mobile.

Sponsors of the THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS include FACTOR, Canada’s Private Radio Broadcasters and The Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage’s “Canada Music Fund,” Radio Starmaker Fund, Province of Manitoba, the City of Winnipeg, Tourism Winnipeg, Manitoba Liquor & Lotteries, and TD Bank Group.


The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences/L'académie canadienne des arts et des sciences de l'enregistrement (CARAS) is a not-for-profit organization created to preserve and enhance the Canadian music and recording industries and to contribute toward higher artistic and industry standards. The main focus of CARAS is the exploration and development of ongoing opportunities to showcase and promote Canadian artists and music through vehicles such as The JUNO Awards and other year-round initiatives. For more information on the 43rd Annual JUNO Awards or The Canadian Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences' (CARAS) website please visit or

About CTV

CTV is Canada's #1 private broadcaster. Featuring a wide range of quality news, sports, information, and entertainment programming, CTV has been Canada’s most-watched television network for the past 12 years in a row. CTV is a division of Bell Media, Canada’s premier multimedia company with leading assets in television, radio, digital, and Out-of-Home. Bell Media is owned by BCE Inc. (TSX, NYSE: BCE), Canada’s largest communications company. More information about CTV can be found on the network’s website at

Social Media Links

Official JUNO Awards website:
CTV’s JUNO Awards website:
CARAS website:
CTV website:

Source: BBM Canada

* Original and encore broadcasts

– CTV –

For more information on THE 2014 JUNO AWARDS on CTV, contact:

Sara McLaren, 416.384.6014 or

Christy Sullivan, 416.384.3624 or